It is currently 24 Apr 2024, 19:17

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Chris capewell
PostPosted: 17 Jan 2011, 14:58 
BDCA Member

Breakdown cranes have been an interest of mine ever since seeing two at work in the mid 1950s ( see attached - any further details welcome! ), and much later realising that in many countries steam breakdown cranes were going to be the final example of such technology, and of such British built technology, at work. Turntables and hydraulic buffers aside.
As to anything else – a railway enthusiast since just out of my pram, with a mother who worked for the LMSR in Coventry from 1937 to 1947. I worked as an architect in the UK, Grenada, Grand Turk, Dubai, Muscat, Qatar and Brunei and as an archaeological surveyor in Jordan. Still travelling, in my retirement, world-wide to ride behind steam locomotives and to view the more general railway scene.
I have had access to a copy of Brownlie since it was so brutally remaindered in the late 1970s and had kept records of the various BR new builds, re-buildings with diesel power, allocation moves and re-numberings through the 1970s and '80s.